My Own Manifesto

Posted: January 29, 2014 in Bloggers, Editorial, Rant
Tags: , ,

 I have a dream that a few great ideas, given to the right minds, can change the world.

Have you ever had a dream? What about a reoccurring dream? What about a dream that just keeps happening until it become a part of your very being? I have a lot of those dreams. I have a dream that a few great ideas, given to the right minds, can change the world. It’s not a simple dream though. I find the best ones normally aren’t. To make the world a better place it takes a lot more than just good intentions. It takes communication, it takes guidance, and it takes compassion. Sometimes it just takes one person saying, “Hey that was a good idea. Can I hear more?”

I find myself at odds ends a lot of days. I have a calling for leadership. This calling makes me feel like some sort of know it all that has everything all figured out. That’s not the truth. I think it’s more like I want to find it all out. I want to know the answers, or find the way to get the answers. I want to put the right ideas in the right hands and get the best questions asked and answered. It’s not the easiest thing to do, but sometimes, you just have to listen to people to hear what they are really saying. It’s not always in the words either, sometimes it’s in their body language, the stories they bring up, or even the way they turn a phrase. You have to ask questions, you have to be involved with people to get the most out of them. I feel this is a lost art.

Do we not see through the investment in our fellow-man because it takes work? Do we not go the distance because the journey is too hard? No it will not be easy. Yes you have to pay attention, take notes if you have to. Study people, understand them like you would a good story, song, or other body of art. Ask questions, fill in the blanks, be more than just a viewer. We need to experience people instead of just read them. These are skills that for the strangest reasons have become secondhand in nature. It is no good. We can do so much better. I’m just not ready to give up. There is a better way. There has to be. There are far and few things a dedicated team of people cannot accomplish. We can’t do it alone, but there is nothing we can’t do together.

I personally like to learn about people. I find them a very great and unique subject. Each one is different and even if they have all the same factors their personal experience is always unique to themselves. It is one of the countless joys of being human. I can’t get past the idea that with these people and experiences we can do something big. Just something massive and life changing. I want to be a part of that. I want to use everything I’ve learned to be part of a force that changes the world for the better. We might have to start small and just change ourselves. Then build to our community, and grow from there. But there is a path and we can make it down it.

I’m not afraid to try new things, learn new things, and just be a part of the new. In fact I embrace it. I want to discover, I want to conquer. I will need help getting there. I’m not afraid to get my hands dirty. Yes, disputes are going to happen. But why be afraid of conflict? Be a part of the resolution. This will get messy but sometimes you need things to be taken apart before it can correctly be put back together. We can’t let ourselves get caught up in the terrible details and lose sight of the big picture. It is a waste of our time and efforts to stand around daunted. No one is going to do this for us. We must work on this ourselves.

I don’t feel I’m the only one tired of whatever this is we are doing right now. I can’t be the only person tired of wasting their resources, time, and effort just hoping for a better way. I feel I can put these thoughts and skills to better use, at least better use than I am currently doing. It is time for a change, hopefully a lasting one. I’ll need hands to help me implement this since this isn’t a solo venture. I am certain we can do something big. We can change our world for the better. We will make it is my new battle cry. It is easy to say because it is so very true. We will. We will make it, and we will get there better than we ever imagined.

I’m going to try and get my thoughts out into the ethos more. I am going to gather more people together. I am going to help communication of great minds to bring strong and powerful ideas. I am going to help these minds turn ideas into actions and greatness. As I fix myself I will ignite repair in others. I will inspire and breed inspiration. I… no we are going to change things. We will find the best methods and tinker with the ones that aren’t quite there. We’re going to get better. We are going to get more awesome.

There is going to be fear but we will not be afraid. We will stand tall and promote our ideals to all that will listen. We’ll garner strong allies and even stronger friendships. We will change the very nature of our world. We won’t miss out on the little details that makes it all so very worthwhile. We won’t let the big picture escape us. There is a dream that can be a reality. A reality that we all take a part of. I can’t do it without you. You are a part of all this. Just by reading these words you are helping the cause. If they affected you in the slightest you’re now part of the cause. If they ignite a fire in you that just won’t die you are the cause and I want to help unleash that flame.

I want to be able to look back on it all and say, “Yeah those skills I learned, I put them to good use and I changed something because of it.” I want to not feel wasted. I want to be an asset. I have a dream that a few great ideas, given to the right minds, can change the world. I know that I can help a few great minds get together. I know that I can help communicate a better world for ourselves, our loved ones, our hopes and dreams. I’m not going to give up on this, on you, on the world. There is no reason that this fantasy cannot be our certainty with a little time, effort, and good people to get us through.

So that great idea you had… can I hear a little bit more?

What do you think?

